Shiki Kurobane – Sequel Review

2013-10-30 20.48.23(That’s a bold statement coming from someone who used to sleep 20 hours a day.  How did he fall asleep before meeting MC??)

Basic Story Premise: You are living in the Demon House and enjoying your role as Shiki’s girlfriend body pillow.  However, you start to think about what the future has in store for you and Shiki.  When you suggest that he should meet your family, he flatly refuses.  His denial of your family leaves you confused and uncertain about your relationship.  Your uncertainty intensifies when a beautiful demon suddenly shows up at the house when you are alone and orders you to leave Shiki so that he can return to his home in the Demon Realm.  Who is this gorgeous demon, and why does she want you out of Shiki’s life? What will happen to your relationship if he is forced to leave you and the Human Realm?

My review with some spoilers, screenshots, and CGs after the jump.  No walkthrough because both endings are available to read after you finish reading the story once.

Shiki: This sequel lets you take a closer look at Shiki’s childhood and development into the character he is today.  2013-10-30 20.39.25Just in case it’s not obvious from the screenshot above, it turns out that Shiki is actually from an extremely wealthy, important Demon family.

(And let me take a brief second to introduce you to the lovely Nozomu, a demon from Shiki’s childhood who randomly decides to show up and shake things up.  Gotta say, I love Nozomu’s hair.  Maybe not the color, but those gorgeous waves?  Absolutely.)

2013-10-30 21.03.38A difficult childhood experience gave Shiki his disillusioned personality.  And his difficult childhood experience also explains his obsession with using you as a body pillow.

My Opinion: Honestly, I have conflicting feelings about this story.  I wanted to like it.  I was hoping to like it.  But…

But… I think I want my money back.

Even though I don’t always enjoy all the Voltage stories I buy, I usually don’t mind spending money on them because the story had a redeeming quality.  Like… the plot might have been terrible but the interactions between characters was great.  Or the romance was slow and kind of boring, but the plot was really unique.  Or the hero isn’t the type of personality I like, but there was a lot of laugh-out-loud comedy throughout the story. Etc, etc.

For this particular story, I’m having a harder time finding something redeeming.

Yes, I like Shiki, and his main story was not bad.  However, I noticed that I like his character more in the other characters‘ main stories than in his own main story.  In addition, I like tsundere types, but the traits that make Shiki tsundere were sadly limited in his sequel.  He still blushes when his affection for you his pointed out, but his clever insults are almost completely gone.

Instead, Voltage decided to play up his childish characteristics in this sequel.  He has nightmares; he wants to snuggle you like you’re his teddy bear; he freezes up and has difficulty confronting his parents.  It also doesn’t help that the other demons point out that the two of you complement each other really well because you do a great job taking care of him.

…Excuuuse me?  I want to be a girlfriend, not a mother.

My heart just couldn’t get into the story once I started to notice that the MC had a protective, motherly role towards Shiki in this sequel.  And the plot itself is pretty generic.

But I really did try to like it.

Of course, this is just my opinion.  I’m sure there are plenty of people out there who enjoyed this story, and I am not trying to step on any toes here.  Feel free to leave me a comment about redeeming aspects that you enjoyed from this story.

And because I don’t like leaving my review on a bad note, let’s leave it with a cute gif (courtesy of Haruhito and his adorably cute ditziness).  output_KMEsTY

The Endings: 2 are available: Super Happy and Happy.  Both endings are very similar.  Like 95% similar.  Both endings involve you and Shiki returning to the Demon House with good news.  The other demons are happy that Shiki will stay and continue to work on their team.  The two of you go to your room where Shiki says he wants to meet your family.  After a brief conversation about this, the Happy Ending ends here.  During the Super Happy Ending, the conversation continues a little bit longer with mention of a possible shotgun wedding and having children together.

And here are the CGs!  (I do like the Shiki’s CGs, so that’s one redeeming quality!)

2013-10-30 21.34.50 2013-10-30 21.35.16 2013-10-30 21.39.35

11 thoughts on “Shiki Kurobane – Sequel Review

  1. Thank you for your review🙂
    Actually I was gonna buy it, but now I doubt if I really need this one.. I liked his main story, but I can’t say if I was really impressed by it (for instance, Kakeru was really more interesting and better, as for me). Still his character seems to be quite an interesting one, but… would you recommend to buy it or not?
    P.S.: which character did you like the most?🙂

    • I think my favorite from the Devil Series would have to be Haruhito (because he is just hilarious) followed by Kakeru. I haven’t checked out Haruhito’s sequel yet, but it’s on my long list. Which of the boys is your favorite?

      • I really like Kakeru… Actually I’m just a bit afraid of checking out Haruhito’s main story – I don’t know why, but from the first sight this character seems to be boring for me😦 but one day, maybe…)
        Also I’m pretty sure I’ll never buy any Rein’s stories: 1) I really do hate his accent (as long as I’m not a native English language speaker, sometimes it becomes really impossible to understand what he says); 2) I’d read the 1t chapter and it I can’t say if I liked it even a bit

  2. Um, did they change the sequel? cause I got it, and the plot was you go to a carnivalwith Iori, but Shiki doesn’t wanna go so Satoru takes you instead. I have it on my iPhone, do they cycle through plots?

    • I also have the app on my iphone, and as far as I know they do not cycle through plots. Off the top of my head, I do not remember any stories with carnivals from this app, but I haven’t read them all. Perhaps you are thinking about the epilogue?

    • Oh I think I figured it out. I believe you are referring to the “dating a demon” substory (only 5 chapters) that voltage put under the “sequel” tab. My review is for the 10 chapter “sequel” story that is also under the “sequel” tab. (Sorry, I know that is kind of confusing. Just check out the different stories under the different tabs.)

  3. I have been playing this game a short while. So far my favorite demon by far is Kakeru. I’ve bought just about all of his sequels and sub stories, I’m waiting to get his birthday sub story, and I can’t wait until they develop the wedding sequel. Satoru is close second favorite. So far I only have his main story, and I have picked his route in a couple sub stories. I believe that the competition in Satoru’s stories is more attractive than what you face with Shiki here. Akane is her name, I believe. Wavy gorgeous brown hair.

Leave a Reply

